Retaking 516 MCAT in August

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wertyuiop

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm a Canadian undergrad in biochemistry planning on applying to American MD schools as a backup and I was looking for a bit of advice.

My cGPA is 3.82 with an sGPA of 3.8.
My MCAT is 131/127/130/128 (PS/CARS/BS/PSYCH)

I signed up for an MCAT rewrite this August in order to maximize my chances in Canada since Canadian schools generally place a lot of importance on the CARS score. However, my American application may be delayed because my MCAT is so late in August.

I really don't mind applying to mid- and low-tier American schools with my current MCAT, but would schools wait to see my new MCAT before offering interviews, and would this delay or cast a red-flag on my application? Also, would I be competitive for mid-tier med schools with my current GPA and MCAT?

Members don't see this ad.

3.8/516 is an excellent combo for US schools. I know that they are more stringent on Canadian applicants, but you should still be in a great position. But I also know that Canada expects super high CARS scores, so I'd maybe try to figure out if you're okay with focusing on US schools. Because you would not need to retake if you're shooting for schools down here.

paging @bearintraining for additional input

Members don't see this ad :)
You run the risk of your score going down, which would be bad...

Reactions: 1 user
3.8/516 is an excellent combo for US schools. I know that they are more stringent on Canadian applicants, but you should still be in a great position. But I also know that Canada expects super high CARS scores, so I'd maybe try to figure out if you're okay with focusing on US schools. Because you would not need to retake if you're shooting for schools down here.

Pretty sure he's still hibernating from the winter, check back next week.