This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

redoctagon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm pretty new here and this is my first post. Anyway, I need some advice, and it's a bit complicated but all advice is appreciated.

I'm a freshman pre-med at a T-20 University (I would share the name, but I see people avoid doing that) and I've been struggling a bit. I got a B in my first quarter of chem, and my second quarter hasn't come out yet, but will likely be a B-/C+. I took the accelerated chem sequence (terrible mistake, by the way- my background was not strong enough to be in this class but my advisor insisted that I take it and I listened), and struggled hard because my study habits haven't really been up to par. I also had to withdraw from Calc 3. I took two bio classes over the summer here and got an A and an A-, so those are sort of carrying my MCBP GPA.

Now here's the question: should I retake chem over the summer? I am nearly certain I can pull of A's in all 3 quarters of the sequence over the summer. I would be taking the regular sequence, not the accelerated one, so I'm seriously considering it. Would it be a good move? I would also have to drop my paid research project which I really don't want to do but I might have to do it.

Thanks in advance,
K

Members don't see this ad.

Do not retake a B and B-! Retaking is for failing or very low (C-) grades. AMCAS averages retake with original rather than replacing, so you are really better off taking some upper level chem classes and doing well in them (and doing well in Ochem). You should absolutely do your paid research this summer.

I got a C in gen chem and did not retake, and it didn't seem to hurt me too much. Just be sure to do well in ochem/biochem and on the chem MCAT section

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi all,