Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrRaqueezy

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I am currently a junior, double-majoring in Biomedical Sciences and Neuroscience. I have plans of going to medical school. I just started volunteering at a hospital in the Emergency Room.

I am very curious about research and how important it is. At the university I attend, the research studies they have just do not interest me. So for right now, I have no research experience and I wanted to know if that is truly an essential piece for applying to medical schools. I am looking for different research studies, some revolving around cancer, or HIV. I'm just lost and would like some guidance.

Members don't see this ad.

You will be fine applying without research. It is a nice thing to have to round out an app, but it won't hurt you necessarily. You may be at a disadvantage at top 20 schools where research matters more.

Reactions: 1 users
As mentioned above, some MD schools put a heavy influence on research. You don't necessarily NEED it, but it certainly doesn't hurt. Don't do it just for the heck of it, do it if you find something that you are genuinely interested in. Not a bad thing to have, but not a complete failure if you don't.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hi!

I am currently a junior, double-majoring in Biomedical Sciences and Neuroscience. I have plans of going to medical school. I just started volunteering at a hospital in the Emergency Room.

I am very curious about research and how important it is. At the university I attend, the research studies they have just do not interest me. So for right now, I have no research experience and I wanted to know if that is truly an essential piece for applying to medical schools. I am looking for different research studies, some revolving around cancer, or HIV. I'm just lost and would like some guidance.