Research year between 3rd/4th year VS. Trying to match, failing, and then taking a research year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ShahRukhKhan

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm no expert at the match since I'm still a medical student myself who has not applied to the match yet. In the event that you fail to match, you could always matriculate into a transitional year or prelim program, continue research that year, and reapply to ophtho programs as an intern. In the event that you end up taking this route, you'd be able to show forth all the work you will do fourth year in ophtho. Don't forget you also have a solid five or six months to start research this year before you send in your applications. Also, the large majority of US seniors match, if that helps. I'm in the same boat with research - I only decided to do ophtho in January and am applying this year!

Last edited:
As someone who didn't match, crushed it in a research year, and then matched, I'd *still* say if you have to do a research year, do it between M3 and M4. It looks a LOT better. A LOT. Instead of being a failed candidate fighting the current, you'll look like a proactive clinician-scientist going the extra mile.

That said though, why do you think you won't match? From what you've told us, it seems like you'd have a solid chance.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)