Research Track - More or Less competitive?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Equal

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm an MD/PhD student who is interested in the research track. However, I may restrain from applying to such a track if it's much more competitive compared to the traditional track. For anyone who has such experience to answer this question: in terms of a single institution with both programs, is the traditional or research track more competitive? And by how much? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello? Anybody home?

Equal said:
Hello? Anybody home?
Are you talking about the ABP's special alternative pathway? This allows you to combine residency and fellowship into 5 years (cutting off one). You can decide to do the SAP after starting residency, and at least where I am there's no difference in the competitiveness (we have the option but don't have people taking advantage of it very often). I'm not familiar with any programs that have a research track that has a separate application process-is there a program you have in mind? We have a research track, but you don't decide whether to do it until middle of internship year (if then!).

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, I read from this website that there are specific research tracks that you apply to through ERAS. For example,
http://www.mattel.ucla.edu/res/researchtk2.html
http://www.cumc.columbia.edu/dept/pediatrics/education/investigators.shtml
http://dukehealth1.org/childrens_services/mentored_research.asp

I was hoping GeneGoddess could lend a hand on this question, but if anybody else has an idea, please let me know. Thank you.

notstudying said: