Research opportunity advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ManuNastai

Skinner to be..
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I need some advice, for I don't know what should I do next. I'll try to write here my story:

I'm a 4th years Med Student from Romania wishing to do a residency in the US. I've taken my step 1 exam and I plan to take my Step 2 durring the 5th year (our medical educational system is 6 years long). I wanted to add something to my CV so I sent emails to a lot of US Professors volunteering in their research projects. I wanted to do 3 months of research durring this summer, get a LoR, or maybe a publication and after that come back home to finish my studies. I got a response yesterday and I don't know what else to do next. Here is my mail:

Dear Dr X:
My name is ManuNastai and I am a 4th year medical student from Romania. I am writing you in order to volunteer in your research lab. I have a great interest in bla-bla in general and in bla-bla-bla in particular. I've also taked the USMLE Step 1 exam and scored 95/235.
My great interest in this field has lead me to the desire to contact you, and ask if you have a position for me in your projects. I'm prepared to put
all my efforts and sacrifice long hours in the lab in order to be able to "quench my thirst" for knowledge in this particular field.
I attached my CV. I would love to work with you, for I find this opportunity extremely valuable for my future career. I can guarantee is my full dedication and love for my work. Thank you for your time. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely...

In my CV i wrote my Step 1 score and 4 participations in the National Chemistry Contests durring the high-school where I got a second and an 8th place. Also I wrote that my expected graduation date is in 2009.

Here is his answer:

Greetilngs==

Thank you for your note. Usually we only accept volunteers for the