This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Green22

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a sophomore (undergrad), and I am having problems finding research opportunities. Any advice on how to be involved with research as an undergrad so I can put it on my application to med school to show that I have been involved in research?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

What have you tried already?

I recently got an opportunity so I'll give you some advice based on my own experience trying to find one.

Here are some options:

1. Talk to your previous professors that you've taken and done well in their class to see if they have any opportunities available.

2. This method is a bit harder, but cold emailing is another option. Go to your school website and look for professors/faculty page in the department of research you're interested in (Ex: Biology department, chemistry, psych, etc.) . Browse through the names and look to see if they have any lab profile or website.

3. This is the method I used with success. Look up to see if your university has summer research programs or internship opportunities. Most likely you'll see a list of previous faculty that served as mentors for students in these programs. So they will be more likely taking on students. They should also have lab profiles you can look up.

Also some other tips:

-Make sure before you contact anyone that you at least familiarize yourself with what they are researching and the goals of the lab are.

-Read their most recent 1-2 publications enough so that you get the main idea of what they're doing.

-Express your interest in their research and why you want to pursue research when you reach out to them. They'll be more likely to take you on if you do so.