research btw 3rd and 4th year in NY?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JdT

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a third year med student. I understand that matching to ANY derm program is a blessing, and that it is not wise to limit oneself geographically. With that said, I am at a midwest med school with a good derm program, late interest in derm, and a fiancé that lives in NY and is unable to relocate. I was told by the chairman of my home program (by email, I don't actually know him) that it might be wise to do a year of research between 3rd and 4th year, since I don't have any research experience in derm. I was thinking that if this were my plan, it might be beneficial to do my year of research at an east coast school--with the understanding that it MIGHT better my chances at matching in NY (or nearby), but understanding that it might not, and that it might actually hurt my chances at my home program.

I have contacted some people at east coast derm programs, but the deadlines for NIH and Doris Duke programs have passed, and I need to find my own means of funding. Are there grant programs I may not be aware of?

Any suggestions or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

That sounds like a good idea. If you are unable to find another grant program (sorry I don't know of any others), then I would recommend doing the research at your home program and getting to know the chairman a little better.

A good recommendation from the chairman is probably very beneficial too!