Research as a Medical Student - Getting Started

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wernicke123

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all:

I'm currently a third year medical student, just finished my first rotation. I'm interested in doing some research, but have no idea how to get started. I go to a school where research is not a priority. I'm doing most of my rotations in different hospitals across the US, so the type of research I'd be doing would have to be something that can move around with me. I have some ideas as far as what type of research I want to do, but I need some guidance to get me started.

I have yet to contact anybody from my school, but like I said earlier I don't know of any faculty member I can go that is actively doing research (or a Student Research Coordinator or something like that).

Any hints/ideas/comments would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all:

I'm currently a third year medical student, just finished my first rotation. I'm interested in doing some research, but have no idea how to get started. I go to a school where research is not a priority. I'm doing most of my rotations in different hospitals across the US, so the type of research I'd be doing would have to be something that can move around with me. I have some ideas as far as what type of research I want to do, but I need some guidance to get me started.

I have yet to contact anybody from my school, but like I said earlier I don't know of any faculty member I can go that is actively doing research (or a Student Research Coordinator or something like that).