Registered Respiratory Therapist to Medical School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sighingoutloud

Reaction score
Hello, I am a RRT and I am wondering if anyone has made the move from RRT to later become a MD? Is it possible? How did you do it? Does having experience as a RRT help with getting in? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am 25, 3.5 GPA with a BS in Ex. Physiology (waste of time) and a Associates of Respiratory Care. I have about 2 years of experience as a registered RT.

Members don't see this ad.

Your RT experience is a plus for sure. I think all you really need is to make sure you have the required prerequisite courses for the schools you are interested in, taking the MCAT, and likely shadowing a physician to get an idea of what the job is like.

Additionally, check out the stickied posts on the top of the pre-med forum for loads of additional info/tips. I used SDN a lot for advice during my application process. There's tons of people here who are happy to answer any questions

Reactions: 1 users
Hello, I am a RRT and I am wondering if anyone has made the move from RRT to later become a MD? Is it possible? How did you do it? Does having experience as a RRT help with getting in? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am 25, 3.5 GPA with a BS in Ex. Physiology (waste of time) and a Associates of Respiratory Care. I have about 2 years of experience as a registered RT.

I'm a career changer (nonclinical background) and I'm applying to MD programs this cycle. Your clinical experience as an RT will be seen positively when it comes time for you to apply.