Refinance vs enter REPAYE - unique situation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RomeoENT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all - please some help for finding the correct financial solution.

I am trying to figure out what my best financial option is: REPAYE vs refinance vs possibly a mix of both??
I am currently a 3rd year resident of a 5 year program. I recently commissioned Army Reserve and as part of my incentive package I will eligible for $40,000/year loan repayment (taxable of course) during my remaining 3 years of residency, payable at the end of each academic year. I currently stand at $360k for loans + accrued interest w/ average APR of 6.7%.
My total annual income for residency + military is $91K. I am married w/ 2 kids and my wife currently works full time as a stay-at-home mom :)
If my Army $40k (minus taxes) payment goes to federal loans in July/August of next year then am I correct that it will likely pay all my annual interest and thus negate any benefit of the REPAYE plan? Or, does the REPAYE plan forgive any interest on a monthly basis?
Currently I have an offer from Laurel Road Bank (formerly DRB) for 5.15% 7 year fixed student loan refinance with $100/month payment during residency.

I am trying to figure out what my best financial option is: REPAYE vs refinance vs possibly a mix of both??
thanks in advance for any help and other details I may be missing.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all - please some help for finding the correct financial solution.

I am currently a 3rd year resident of a 5 year program. I recently commissioned Army Reserve and as part of my incentive package I will eligible for $40,000/year loan repayment (taxable of course) during my remaining 3 years of residency, payable at the end of each academic year. I currently stand at $360k for loans + accrued interest w/ average APR of 6.7%.