Recommendations for Private Practice Internships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

roblaur

UPenn c/o 2019
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a second year veterinary student, and I'm starting to figure out where I want to do externships. I want to do a SA rotating internship in private practice after I graduate, so I want to do externships in practices I am considering for internships. I know there are a lot of poor internship programs in private practice, but there are also a lot of great ones. I was hoping to hear some personal experiences for specific practices you would recommend or steer clear of.

I know AMC and Angell are great but I don't have the most competitive GPA right now due to some life issues during my first year. While I'm working on improving it, I doubt I'll end up being competitive enough for those specific programs. I'm most interested in emergency and would like surgery experience if possible, but I'm not planning in a residency as of now.

Members don't see this ad.

I did an internship at a smaller VCA specialty hospital and enjoyed it (well, as much as anyone ever enjoys an internship). It was an overall positive experience. There are a few negatives with a corporate practice like VCA, but they really do try to put an emphasis on learning and there are some overarching guidelines that all VCA internships are supposed to follow within the organization, which I think helps with quality control a little bit. I also had a not-so-competitive GPA. I think your strategy to visit ones you're most interested in is smart. I don't think I would have matched if I hadn't visited the practice I ended up matching to, but they knew me and remembered me so they were willing to give me a shot even though on paper I was less competitive than my internmates.

Members don't see this ad :)