Recent grads licensed in WA-Practicum Hrs for WA Licensure- What Counts? Coming From Out-of-State

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

noellekh

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am currently a pre-doctoral intern and finishing my last few months of internship...so close to degree conferral. I completed my training in Oregon and just accepted a job with a group practice in WA as license-eligible with the plan to get licensed immediately after internship. I meet the 3300 hr requirement and the rest of requirements for licensure. I did not complete a postdoc or plan to as I have accrued enough hours for licensure in WA. However, as I am completing the licensure application and looking over the hours, there are some really confusing stipulations about practicums that are starting to make me wonder if ANY of my practicums will count toward the hour requirement. Coming from an APA accredited program and internship, this is both horrifying and incredibly frustrating. Any recent graduates out there who got licensed in WA and can speak to this at all? My numbers are as follows: 1570 practicum hours and 2000+ of internship hours from APA accred. site. So, I meet the internship hr and practicum hour components. I've also been told by a friend in my program who is getting licensed in WA that I cannot count our practicums as pre-internship..apparently he did that and got his application returned; they told him to count them all as practicums. But he also completed a postdoc, and it isn't clear if that made his prac hours no longer necessary, so I still don't have my question answered. My practicum hours do not meet the pre-internship requirements listed in the WAC 246-924-053. But there's no way my prac hours count for nothing, right?! This is what the application states:

In order to qualify for licensure, an applicant must demonstrate completion of 3,300