Reapplying, low MCAT, Medical Sciences/post bac program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

abenguyen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, this will be my first post on SDN. Here's my summary

-UT Arlington Graduate (December 2011, 3.5 years if that matters). Overall GPA 3.75, Science 3.72.
-Applied for 2012 entry year with 21 MCAT (9P 4V 8B, I knew the terrible verbal score wouldn't help but applied anyways, this was my second attempt. The first was a 19...)
-With no interviews (obvious and expected), applied and gained acceptance to the Post-bac/Medical Sciences Program at UNTHSC of which I am a current student now.
-In the process of reapplying, took my MCAT 8/10/12, and sadly only improved to a 22 (9P 5V 8B). The summer provided TPR prep and a biostats course which I received a B.
-Application is complete and submitted. I know my chances are fairly low with multiple low MCAT scores and a starting Graduate GPA of 3.00 with the only grade from the summer.

The time to study for MCAT again is scarce with a full course load to finish the master's program by next May. Plus a 4th MCAT looks bad, really bad.

Any input?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
The graduate GPA of a 3.0 will kill you. You nee to evaluate you're studying of the MCAT by dedicated 5+ hours a day. If you don't have time, wait until you do. Honestly, it would've been better if you sent in the applications before the summer transcripts released but no use crying over spilled milk.

With such a good GPA, you have the mental capacity to score well on the MCAT. If you can't set aside 3+ hours a day studying for the test from here until spring then wait until end of summer and apply the year after.