Reapplicant; What to Add?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hyperlite913

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm here trying to make it so third time is the charm. I graduated in 2017, and have since worked as a medical scribe for 1-year, and a research associate for 2-years. I applied in 2018 with two interviews, and two waitlists. Since that cycle, I have exclusively worked as a research associate and retook the MCAT as my first take had expired. With the research experience and a decent MCAT retake, I really thought this cycle would be the one, but have only received one II so far. One thing I know I need to add, is that I did not add any DO schools and next cycle I will for sure be doing this. Burned out this cycle with 30 MD apps and basically never got around to it (lesson learned). Volunteering is my big deficiency now at this point and I'm working to address it, both for clinical and non-clinical.

My big dilemma right now is how to approach my employment. I am contemplating trying to jump in and get more clinical experience as an EMT, etc. etc., but as a CA resident, I also selfishly enjoy now having worked in research for 2-years with a decent salary. I understand the end-goal, but I was hoping I could get there with my scribing experience alone at this point.

Long story short, if I add some volunteer hours, do you think I might need to change employment and gather more clinical hours? Maybe shadowing alone could add some meaningful clinical hours without having to jump ship? Anything else here that I should be considering? Alternatives or suggestions?

Stats:
sGPA: 3.60
cGPA: 3.60
MCAT: 511 (expired), 516 (2021)
Clinical Experience: 1200hrs working as a medical scribe. Around 100 from a volunteer trip I took to Nepal.
Research: 4000+hrs at this point, RA in medical device research.