Reapplicant, should I do a post-bac?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Yukaris

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

So I applied to around 20 schools this cycle and not a single interview... I still haven't heard back from a couple schools but at this point I don't think I'll be hearing any good news anyway, so I've decided to reapply next year.

California Asian female applicant. My cGPA is 3.7 but my sGPA is only 3.3. My first MCAT was a 505 and the second try was 508. I have 2 years of research experience, about 300+ volunteer hours, 50+ shadowing hours, and a few other activities.

My failure is probably due to my low GPA/MCAT and not enough experiences, I was really lacking in the nonclinical volunteer experience section. But my main question is in terms of academics, should I do a post-bac to bump up my sGPA or would a higher MCAT score be able to make up for it?
Is community college out of the question since I already finished all of my prereqs? It's just that a post-bac is going to be a heavy financial burden. If I'm looking to work full time, I wouldn't be able to attend school full time, meaning that the original one year academic enhancer program might take a lot longer...

Say if I keep my current GPA, and just work on gaining more experiences and improving the MCAT would that be a good option as well?
Thanks, I really need some advice :(

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
When you say reapply "next year" do you meant 2018-2019 cycle or 2019-2020 cycle?