Reapplicant: Dream Deferred

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drMED1234

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello-

I am writing because I am in need of some guidance and encouragement. I just got done crying my eyes out after hearing from my mother that the last school I was waiting on declined me :(. My dreams are deferred but not broken, I still desperately want to be that doctor that I know I can be. I was wondering if any of you know of any post-bac programs that would help me improve my MCAT score.

Minority female
GPA: 3.5 (honor's program in school with Dean's list each semester)
MCAT 25 ( I never took a course prep class because I do not have the money and it bothers me that in order to do well on the MCAT one needs to take a prep course... what about those who can't afford it???) I studied with the KAPLAN Books and ExamKrackers

I have done plenty of research and my course grades are excellent. I know that it is my MCAT that is holding me back. At this point my two options I think are to find a post-bac program that can help me improve my MCAT or get a job (related to my biology degree) and just take a MCAT course prep class.

Members don't see this ad.

Well, a few thoughts.
1. You don't need an MCAT prep course to do well. Plenty of folks do quite well without one.
2. A 3.5 is average.
3. A 25 MCAT is a problem if you are set on MD schools.
4. How are your ECs?
5. Arrange a meeting with a med school admissions dean or two - ones that you applied to this year - and ask them how to improve your application.