Really struggling...in need of advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopingtosavelives

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

First post on here so not sure how people will respond. I'm a first year med student. Currently in my second semester. The first block back from winter break, I found out that my mom's cancer had returned. I'm living at home with my mom (to save $$$). This block happened to be the dreaded brain sciences + head/neck anatomy block. I HATE anatomy, but first semester had been doing about average. Long story short, I ended up getting a 50 on the anatomy portion of the exam.

We have one other anatomy exam this semester and it's is on limbs. I need to get at least a 90 on it to pass the course. I've already talked with a dean, the head of the course, etc. I was just wondering if anyone had tips on how to do the best I possibly can on this portion of anatomy? Any tips for mastering the brachial plexus or any other portion of limb anatomy? Seriously, any tips are welcome. I have a lot of trouble memorizing a bunch of names/facts at once. Any tricks on how to memorize things quickly without making 40000 anki flashcards and then not having enough time to actually memorize them?

My mom is currently undergoing chemo and I am her primary caretaker. I need to get a lot done in a short amount of time.

Thanks guys

Members don't see this ad.

Is a leave of absence a possibility? Sounds like a lot on your plate right now.

No sweet tricks about limb anatomy, sorry. Anatomy was by far my worst subject.

Reactions: 3 users
I have a lot of trouble memorizing a bunch of names/facts at once. Any tricks on how to memorize things quickly without making 40000 anki flashcards and then not having enough time to actually memorize them?

Netter's flashcards are the best. Also, spend as much time in anatomy lab as you possibly can.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)