Really basic question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Josh1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a med student and have a pretty basic question and couldn't find an answer when I searched: what is meant by irregular irregular in Afib?

I understand all the ECG findings and how to detect Afib, what I don't understand is this terminology. What is the first irregular referring to and what is the second one referring to? I know their is an irregular rate of P waves, and the ventricular response is irregular (not all P waves are conducted), is this what is being referred to? If so, which comes first (the P wave rate or the ventricular response?)

For example if I say

Regular Irregular: Does this mean a regular rate of P waves and an irregular ventricular response (would bundle branch blocks fall under this?)

What if I say irregular regular- Is this just atrial flutter with 1:1 response: irregular rate of P waves with regular ventricular response?

I've also heard of pulses being described as 'irregularly irregular' and that without an ECG you have to think of PVCs and PACs besides Afib, which makes the description 'irregularly irregular' more confusing for me as I thought it was an ECG description

Thanks for your help with my learning!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi,

I'm a med student and have a pretty basic question and couldn't find an answer when I searched: what is meant by irregular irregular in Afib?

I understand all the ECG findings and how to detect Afib, what I don't understand is this terminology. What is the first irregular referring to and what is the second one referring to? I know their is an irregular rate of P waves, and the ventricular response is irregular (not all P waves are conducted), is this what is being referred to? If so, which comes first (the P wave rate or the ventricular response?)

For example if I say