This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

music-and-medicine

Reaction score
Hey everyone, Newbie here.

I am not sure if I could as a non-trad. student, but here goes:

I am currently a Music Therapy/ Composition Double major, with a strong interest in neuroscience. I was told freshman year that I could not do medicine by my family (abusive situation), and I believed them. However, now I have transferred, am halfway through Music Therapy, and realizing that I still want to do medicine. I figure, I might as well see if I have what it takes. Here are some details:

-I currently have a 3.9 GPA
-I have taken all of my gen-ed courses, plus on year of Music Therapy/ Psychology courses
-I have volunteered and worked in clinical settings (human and veterinary) for over 8 years. As a vet tech, I am fine with every bodily fluid and then some, and have assisted and been around surgeries and emergency situations.
-I have made a 3.9 or 4.0 every single semester, sans my freshman year when I got a concussion right before finals (ew.)

I have been thinking about it, and I feel like the most logical course is to finish my degree in MTY, and add my pre-med courses, since there is a lot of overlap in the science and psych courses. However, most of my pre-med friends have been such since Freshman year. I am technically about to start junior year. (But will most likely have to be a "super senior" due to taking a gap year due to limited finances. Then I figure I could try for med school, but if I fail, I still have a career.

The thing is though, that I know next to nothing about what it "really takes" in undergrad to make it. I have learned the basics, including that there is a large percentage of music majors that are accepted into med school, but I want to know more. Am I completely delusional to want to go for it? What are some things I need to know or have not thought about yet?

Thanks so much!