reading recommendations for AuD Tech :)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

crystal87

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Just got a job as an audiology tech, which I'm super excited about. The thing is, I have a premedical background and don't have a whole lot of knowledge in audiology. I have a little bit of time before I start working, and thought it would be good to read up on audiology basics. Can you recommend me some books that are concise but still provide a good overview of the field, common hearing conditions, diagnostic procedures, etc. As a tech, I'll be mainly screening newborns.

Members don't see this ad.

Introduction to Audiology by Martin and Clark.

Hi all,

Just got a job as an audiology tech, which I'm super excited about. The thing is, I have a premedical background and don't have a whole lot of knowledge in audiology. I have a little bit of time before I start working, and thought it would be good to read up on audiology basics. Can you recommend me some books that are concise but still provide a good overview of the field, common hearing conditions, diagnostic procedures, etc. As a tech, I'll be mainly screening newborns.

If you do not mind me asking and seeing as how this interaction is quite anonymous, how well is the salary for a aud. technician?

Members don't see this ad :)
James, it can be anywhere from $10k to 25k depending in what state and what setting you're working for.

I'll be starting at around $11/hr, + weekend shift differentials

i am also working as an audiology tech making 17/hour

Hi crystal87,