Status
Not open for further replies.

GoSpursGo

SDN Chief Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently on 4 waitlists and my undergrad advisor has suggested that I get ready to reapply this year, but I wanted to get some additional opinions.

I graduated in June 2020. My cGPA was 3.88, sGPA 3.85. My MCAT was 516, however my sciences were 126 C/P and 127 BB, while I got 132 P/S and 131 CARS.
I have ~1000 hrs research, ~1800 hrs clinical experience (which will continue to increase...I work as a technician at a residential psychiatric treatment center). My volunteer hours are admittedly mostly based in on-campus activities rather than going out into the wider community with the exception of helping out at a foodbank this year, and based on how I categorize things on AMCAS are up to ~1200 hrs.

I applied to 21 schools:
-all 6 CA state schools (I'm a CA resident, rejected pre-II at all 6)
-Kaiser- a wild card - pre-II R
-3 "reaches": Pitt (II, waitlist), Icahn (pre-II R), Case Western (pre-II R),
-11 mid-level: Rochester (II, waitlist), Jefferson/SKMC (II, waitlist), SLU (II, waitlist), Georgetown (II, R), USC/Keck(pre-II R), Tufts(pre-II R), NYMC(pre-II R), Albany (silent R), MCW (pre-II R), Drexel (hold), Temple (pre-II R)

I know a lot of schools and adcoms say the biggest mistake reapplicants make is applying again too soon before they've had time to make meaningful changes to their app, so my question here is whether the clinical experience I've gained at my job all year is enough of a development, or if I should wait another year.