RD (Registered Dietitian) + DPT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pipeto

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergrad Junior and I've been working as personal trainer for the past 8 months. I really want to become a PT (my main interest is to specialize in sports PT or ortho PT).

Lately I've thinking about becoming a RD (registered Dietitian) in combination with acquiring my DPT degree. I don't know anybody that has made such a combination but to me it sounds like a very marketable combo.

Do you know anybody that has made such a combination and if so, is their job or salary any different from that of other PT's?

As a PT, do you see any use or value for this combination in degrees?

Do you think it's a waste of time to become an RD in combination with DPT?

Any input will help, THANKS

P.S. I know that becoming a RD requires a 6-8 month internship and a passing score on the RD test aside from acquiring a bachelor's degree.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think I should add:

Currently I am a Nutritional Science Major (different from dietetics) with my current major I would have nutritional knowledge but I won't be legally allowed to prescribe or design nutritional programs for anybody.