RC Help! Take DAT in 3 weeks!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VinnyGram

Reaction score
Hi Guys!

So I have been preparing myself to take the DAT for about 3 months now and I will take it in about 3 weeks! (May 30th) I have been doing great on practice questions, tests, learning from mistakes, etc. and have scored a 21 on two full tests but really want to do better. Where I struggle is RC. I have been reading about half of the article, then answering which questions I can, using search and destroy to answer the rest. This strategy sometimes works and sometimes doesn't depending on the type of passage that I get. Recently, I have been running out of time and truly struggling to finish due to the difficulty of RC Bootcamp's tests (6-10). The passages are just so long/hard to comprehend, and there are so many application questions, its just overwhelming to the point where I can't finish on time without pausing the timer. I was wondering if anyone who took the DAT had any advice about this, if I should change anything? And is the RC on the actual DAT easier in comparison to the monstrous passages with very difficult questions in Bootcamp?

Members don't see this ad.

RC is easier than Bootcamp, not the reading itself, but the questions are easier.
My advice is not to worry about it. Don't even take tests anymore. Just keep on reading articles or novels every day for an hour and that's it.
Give the hardest article +25 minute, the second one 20 minutes and run through the last one in search and destroy.
That's what I did and I got 21. Pretty proud of it since English is not my first language!