Radiology and Patient Contact

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dozer

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm a first year med student that could use a little help. I'm really enyoying my initial brushes with radiology and want to look into it as a possible specialty pursuit. However, I really enjoy patient contact and was wondering if there were any fields within radiology that would provide substantial patient contact. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

dozer said:
Hello all, I'm a first year med student that could use a little help. I'm really enyoying my initial brushes with radiology and want to look into it as a possible specialty pursuit. However, I really enjoy patient contact and was wondering if there were any fields within radiology that would provide substantial patient contact. Thanks!

Interventional radiology has a lot of patient contact. In diagnostic radiology, you get patient contact in ultrasound, fluoroscopy, mammography, spinal injections, and doing biopsies/drainages.

IR>>mammo>>peds>>rest

You will never be a PCP, but if you want patient contact as a significant part of your practice, IR is your field.
Some patients become 'your' patients as you see them frequently (liver cancer and biliary stricture patients), but for most your patient contact is limited to maybe a floor-consult or clinic visit, the procedure and maybe a follow-up appointment.

Members don't see this ad :)