Quoted: What to disclose in the match?

NotAProgDirector

Pastafarians Unite!
Staff member
Volunteer Staff
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so I need some advice. Here's my situation:
I am currently a 5th yr med student and I am in the process of applying for residency positions in Peds and Family Medicine. Last year about this time I was all set to graduate in 4 years. But I had started abusing narcotics to deal with depression and anxiety. I ended up going to rehab and taking a few months off clinical rotations. By the time I was ready to restart school it was too late to consider graduating in 4 years and decided to extend.
Now that I am applying for residency's I am stuck as to how honest to be with the reason for my extension at interviews? I have been sober for almost a year now and I have a really good system in place to keep me accountable including weekly random drug screens. I guess I am just worried about the stigma surrounding substance abuse and addiction and I know that disclosing my past will close some doors to me. I was lucky to have no legal issues or criminal charges steaming from my using. Only one administrator at my medical school knows the full reason for my extension. They termed my time off as a medical leave of absence and did not ask any questions. So there isn't much of a paper trail to be worried about I don't think.
Has anyone personally been through something like this? Any advice as to what I should do? Or does anyone know just how personal the programs are allowed to be when it comes to info like this? Like if I just say it was medical reasons I took the time off are they allowed to ask for more info or do they have to stop at that?
Any guidance would be great!

This is an interesting situation, with no clear answer.