QUOTED: Post Scramble Reality Check

NotAProgDirector

Pastafarians Unite!
Staff member
Volunteer Staff
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I graduated from a US med school in 2007. I had difficulty deciding what I wanted to do. I also had some personal/family difficulties during my clinical years and took a medical leave for ~1 yr to resolve them. My step I score: 188, my 2nd attempt step II CK: 204, step II CS: pass. I remediated two rotations, Psychiatry and Peds SUBI, but pulled it together after my medical leave and received a NH in surgical oncology, NH trauma and surgical critical care SUBI, and H in IM SUBI my fourth year. I've tried the match and scramble twice for different specialties (highly competitive) without success.

I didn't do an EM rotation as a med student. I shadowed for a couple months to get letters for ERAS 2008, but I was warned it would most likely not be enough. For 2009, I'm debating between EM and anesthesia. There are no other specialties I am interested in. I'm obviously a suboptimal candidate for these highly competitive fields. Do I have a chance? I need clinical exposure where I can make contacts. I'm sure I can do the work and need a chance to prove myself. What do you suggest is the best method to do that?

Please help me. Thanks.

You've got an application with some "red flags" -- a leave of absence, poor USMLE's (multiple attempts), and remediations of some clinical rotations. Many programs will not care much if you need to remediate a pre-clinical course (i.e. biochem), but having to remediate a clinical rotation is a much bigger deal.

On a good note, your grades seem to have improved at the end.