Quoted: Permanent Resident

MSmentor020

DO/Single student
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I have a question concerning whether my citizenship status will decrease my chance of getting into med school significantly. I have a solid gpa (3.9, science 3.87) at a renowned university, just received my mcat results (since I am in a 3 year program and the scores are valid for two years I chose to write it now directly after my prereq courses - 13 Bio, 11 Physics, 11 Verbal) and obviously want to study medicine. However, I am originally from Germany but have permanent resident status (green card ) in the U.S. However, since I am studying in Canada for my undergrad I am out of state for all of the universities that I will apply to.
Does that decrease my chances of (in general) getting into med school a lot? How can I find out which schools are especially OOS-friendly?
I have a couple of dream schools (eg. Georgetown) and I'd like to somehow find out how they feel about OOS students.

Thanks a lot in advance, I really appreciate it!!!!

I'm not sure if there's any real hard evidence behind this, but from my own personal knowledge, it is an uphill battle to be accepted into a US medical school from a non-US college.

You do have a solid GPA and a good MCAT score. However, many schools out there already have a substantial favoritism towards instate students, and being out of the country will only make it that much harder for you. That's NOT to discourage you though. I personally know a couple friends who were in your position and accomplished their goal. It's definitely do-able. So Best of Luck! :luck:

Put yourself out there, have a good interview, and hope for the best!

Members don't see this ad.

So my chances are pretty low, eh?