Quoted: med student with 2 DUIs

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a first year medical student. I had a prior DUI in 2006 which I plead guilty too and I just got arrested for a second one. There has obviously been no decision on the second one and I will inform my school on Monday. However, I was wondering how this would affect me taking the COMLEX and USMLE and how it would affect my applications for residency programs.

I don't really have the answer but am posting this so that anyone with an informed perspective can reply. I do suggest that you discuss this in person with your Dean for Student Affairs rather than just sending an email. I assume you've already contacted a lawyer.

Members don't see this ad.

Several thoughts:

1. The first is whether you have an alcohol problem or not. I would argue that, at a minimum, you have relatively poor judgement in this area. Simply put, you should not drive after drinking any significant alcohol. Now you will have two judgements against you. One perhaps can be chalked up to a poor mistake. Two suggests something deeper.

At a maximum, you may have an alcohol problem. In that case, you need to seek help immediately.

2. You will need to report all of this on your ERAS application for residency. It will almost certainly affect your ability to get a residency. With a single DUI, you could say that you made a mistake and learned your lesson -- with two, that's going to be a harder argument.

In New York, for example, second DWI (what they call a DUI) within 10 years is a felony. With a felony conviction, you're in deep stuff - like, forget your medical career - seriously. There are exceptions, of course (one of which I could tell you that would curl your hair), but those tend to be after you've become a doc.