Quoted: Honor code violation

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a graduate of a prestigious university applying this cycle and taking two years off before attending medical school. My gpa is a 3.55 and my MCAT is a 37P. I've been doing cancer research since I graduated last year.

My freshman year (over 4 years ago), I made a terrible mistake by turning in a biology lab quiz for a regrade after changing the answers. I owned up and as a result was given probation and a one-letter final grade reduction. Since then I have matured greatly, and of course I never did this again.

The violation is no longer on my transcript, but I will mark it on AMCAS as an institutional action. I have asked the professor who discovered the cheating to write a letter of recommendation for me, and the same professor is writing my committee composite letter. He said he can put the violation in context and will vouch for me.

The committee letter won't make it out until August, but the institutional action on AMCAS will be visible in June. Should I ask for a letter from the Dean of Student Affairs or the biology professor to be sent along with the primary application? What other measures should I take to help the situation? Do I have a chance at getting into allopathic schools in the states?

I'm not sure I'd be too worried about the letter timing. If you'd like, just tell schools to wait on the letter before reviewing your application.

If all other aspects of your application are strong, you have a good chance of getting interviews. It will be up to you to explain yourself and your motivation for medicine at the interviews. If asked about the violations, be honest, contrite, and brief in your responses.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Thank you so much, Tildy.

If the timing doesn't matter, then I won't worry about sending additional letters, which may draw unnecessary attention to my poor decision.