All4MyDaughter

SDN Mommystrator
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For those working in community pharmacy:

pharmacy intern said:
I am a pharmacy intern, and, so far, I have had two experiences in retail pharmacy at 2 different stores. In my first experience, I had just finished a course in Pharmacy Law where we learned the rules regarding Controlled Substance Law- and one of those laws was that controlled substances MUST be called in by the prescriber him/herself and could NOT be called in by a secretary.

At my first place, I would get calls from secretaries asking for 20 day supplies of Lortab (maximum is 5 day), and they would not even know how to call in the Rx. I would tell them that this needs to be done by the prescriber OR they could fax it on the prescription they will be mailing (assuming they even have it written down and it's not just a secretary's whim). I was scolded for that by the pharmacist that day. And I came to think of retail in a negative light- as one that could even seek to skirt the rules for the sake of expedience. (And, to me, these are important rules- I've had family members who have died from prescription drug overdoses, so I actually do care about the law).

Now, at the place I work, a pharmacist has told me never to take phoned-in controlled 'prescriptions' from secretaries (because anyone could be a secretary, and they could be calling it in without the practitioner's okay, and in the end, if it's seen that you're taking controlled call-ins from secretaries, it's your license on the line...). He told me exactly what I learned in law class, and I was amazed at how he sticks to what is right, on the issue. He even said that nothing is so great an emergency where one needs to violate that. If all else failed, the patient could always be treated by a doctor at any time of the day and obtain those meds.

My primary doctor has phoned in every controlled substance he ever prescribed for 30 years.