QUOTED: Disability in Healthcare

NotAProgDirector

Pastafarians Unite!
Staff member
Volunteer Staff
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore in college with a fairly substantial physical disability--so substantial, in fact, that I think it will truly limit my ability to meet technical standards for pharmacy or medical schools--two fields I'm considering. I have poor fine motor skills (problems with compounding and medical procedures), poor balance/walking ability, (can't walk unassisted or go up stairs), can't lift or carry things/people, etc. I've done research and found that I would have serious difficulties meeting the general technical standards of these schools and if I did enter one of these fields, I would be severly limited in the type of work I could perform (academic research or drug info, probably not much practice), taking out much of what attracts me to the fields in the first place (variety of working situations, patient contact, active role in healthcare, wide job markets, etc.). Thus, I've considered other fields like social work and clinical psych, where functional limitations would be less of an issue. Yet, I remain fascinated by medicine and pharmacy and have had people who know me tell me to "go for my dream" or "don't give up." However, it seems many of them are saying this to avoid seeming rude or bigoted, and I don't want to get into a field I can't suceed in, either in the clinical schoolwork or in practice. Thus, I wanted to ask--anonmously--to what extent someone with my degree of functionally limitations could succeed in these schools or jobs, based on what you know of your programs and/or professions.

Than you!