QUOTED: Barely passed step two, am I doomed

NotAProgDirector

Pastafarians Unite!
Staff member
Volunteer Staff
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a DO student and am interested in EM
got a 199 on usmle 1 and took usmle 2 early to try and raise my score but got a barely passing score...184

was wondering what my chances were of being successful

i'm sure I did fine w/ comlex but am wondering how i might fare w/ the allopathic match

any feedback will be appreciated

I'm an IM program director, but I think I can help.

Your poor USMLE scores will be a big problem, as you have hinted in your question. Your application will be evaluated on multiple levels, your USMLE's being one of those. So, the answer depends on many factors -- what type of school you go to (i.e. an established DO school vs a "newbie"), rotations that you might have done in allopathic ED's, etc.

That being said, you may not get a spot in the NRMP match due to your USMLE score, especially in EM which is more competitive these days. You will likely have trouble in IM also. Last year 30+% of osteopathic applicants failed to match.

As an osteopath, you are allowed to participate in both the AOA and the NRMP matches. The AOA match occurs first, ROL's are due Jan 25th and AOA Match day is Feb 11, 2008. If you match in the AOA match, you must withdraw from the NRMP match.

My advice to you is straightforward: If a career in EM is important to you, then I would apply to EM programs in both matches. If you match in a DO EM program, then your career is set and away you go. I have no idea how competitive EM is in the AOA match. If not, then you fall back onto the NRMP match as a second try, but need to have a plan B.

If you get 10+ allopathic interviews, then your chances of getting an NRMP spot are much better, and you will need to decide whether to forgo the AOA match altogether and hope for an NRMP match. You can't have it both ways.