Quoted: Academic probation and MD/DO apps

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Posted for a member

I was on academic probation for a semester during the first semsester of junior year. I had some personal problems and other hard classes on my plate, I ended up receiving Ds in my O chem II and in a Bio class durin my sophomore spring semester. I retook those course and got B and A respectively, but I had to be on academic probation for a semester. It did not affect my enrollment since it was a warning to do well in school. I graduated this year with 3.2 GPA overall and 3.0 GPA in my science classes. So my question is should I talk about this in MD and DO primary application. There is a section where they ask :

DO:
Were you ever the recipient of any action for unacceptable academic performance, (including but not limited to academic probation or academic warning) or were you ever the recipient of any action for conduct violations by any college or school?

MD:
Were you ever the recipient of any institutional action by any college or medical school for unacceptable academic performance or conduct violation, even though such action may not have interrupted your enrollment or required you to withdraw?

What should I do? should I talk about the bad semester? Also, what if the reason is too personal? what should I do then?

Please advise me. I am filling out my primary application, and I don't know what to do about that section. :(

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know if academic probation counts as "institutional action," because as you say it is really just a warning that you need to get your grades up.