Questions on Prereq Schedule

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sunflower1991

Reaction score
Hello. I am a nontrad applicant playing around with my prerequisite timeline and schedule. By the time I apply for Medical School my previous coursework will be 10-14 years old. I plan on doing a DIY Postbacc for a year and then studying for the MCAT in the Winter of the following year. I think I want to retake Chem 1 and Microbiology because they are part of a series, the info relates to other required prereqs, and I remember pretty much nothing from the first go around. I graduated with a 3.6 cumulative GPA. Obviously my science GPA is lower due to the grades below, but if I am able to ace the prerequisites I think it should be high enough since I haven't taken that many prereqs yet. Additionally, these classes were all my freshman or sophomore year and I can show an upwards trend in my GPA. My first degree was in Sport Management & Accounting.

I took the following courses during my time in undergraduate: Intro Stats (A-), Intro Psych (B+), Intro Dev Psych (A-), Gen Chem 1 (A-), Gen Chem Lab (B), Intro to Microbiology (C+)

My current plan:
- Do not retake Stats or Psych. Review this material on my own using various resources before doing a DIY postbacc to get back in the learning mindset and cover MCAT material.
- Take any prereqs required by the Postbacc school at a community college while still working.
- Take the following prereqs as a DIY Postbacc at a local 4 year University:

Winter 2021Spring 2021Summer 2021Fall 2021Winter 2022
Bio 1Bio 2Physics 2Orgo 2Upper Level Bio/ Genetics
Chem 1Chem 2Orgo 1BiochemMCAT Study
Physics 1Microbiology
SociologyUpper Level Bio/ Genetics

Questions;