Questions on J1 waivers

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The One Who Knocks

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am currently a second year Canadian student attending a U.S. medical school. I have been thinking about my future quite a bit, and I have a few questions regarding "J1 waivers".

I have heard that people who do residency on a J1 visa and want to stay in the U.S. to work often get "J1 waiver jobs" afterwards. Is this a common/viable route to go? How hard are these "J1 waivers" to get (if you're interested in Internal Medicine, for example)? How much do you sacrifice in terms of pay/other things to do a J1 waiver job? Are they horrible? (if you're interested in a field like Internal Medicine, for example). And lastly: how does this "J1 waiver" process work? Does the "J1 waiver" job switch you to a H-1B visa and then you can apply for a green card?

Also: say you do go back to Canada for the 2 years after your training to fulfill the J1 visa requirement. After those 2 years, could you then go back to the U.S. to work afterwards? How would you do that?

Any insight on this would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: