Questions in regards to choosing Dermatology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureMD836

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am new to this web site...so hopefully this works for me :) I will be starting medical school in 2005. I'm really interested in Dermatology for many reasons. I have been told it's the hardest residency to get placed into..that you have to be within the top 3 in your class. My first question is what can I do during medical school, other than do awesome on my boards, that will help me get into Dermatology. What are these residency directors looking for? At what point would I have to start doing research, and does research really play a significant role in the entire process? What's the best advice someone can give me who has already gone through the process? Thank you so much! Have a nice Easter =)

Members don't see this ad.

FutureMD836 said:
Hi everyone! I am new to this web site...so hopefully this works for me :) I will be starting medical school in 2005. I'm really interested in Dermatology for many reasons. I have been told it's the hardest residency to get placed into..that you have to be within the top 3 in your class. My first question is what can I do during medical school, other than do awesome on my boards, that will help me get into Dermatology. What are these residency directors looking for? At what point would I have to start doing research, and does research really play a significant role in the entire process? What's the best advice someone can give me who has already gone through the process? Thank you so much! Have a nice Easter =)