Questions for Allergy/Immunology Fellows

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PA Doc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a PGY-1 resident in IM from community Hospital trying to get into Allergy/Immunology Fellowship.
What is the best Allergy/Immunology Book that could be used for rotation in Allergy?
And does it matter where you do research, do I have to go to the University Programm where they have Allergy Fellowship or it's ok to do it in my Community Hospital?
Thanks a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a research fellow in A&I now. Best book for Allergy is Middleton's. But it's enormous. The AAAAI has a review book for Fellows that is quite good if you can get your hands on it. I would say just read reviews in JACI; they are quite good. As far as research, basic science is the way to go. You should see the board questions that come up ... so esoteric basic science crap. I mean, the clinical fellows like to ask me questions since I basically do immunology research, but some of it, even I don't know. Anyway, my point is that this field loves to feel like they are hard core scientists, even though at the end of the day, they are just giving allergy shots and desensitizing pts. The basic practice of allergy (not the immunology side) hasn't changed in a long time. Personally, I feel the emphasis on research is an attempt to overcome an inferiority complex that they are less academic than other specialties. My personal view ... allergy is boring but the immunology is fascinating.