Questions about prereqs taken at CC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

starl3tte

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I did a search, but couldn't find answers.

I graduated from a 4 year, and then completed most of an informal postbac at a CC. These are my questions:

I took 1 year of non-calculus based physics w/ lab. The title of the course, however, is "Intro to Physics" AND assist.org shows that it is not transferable to my 4 year. For a course to be an acceptable pre-req, does it have to be transferable to a 4 year?

I've noticed that some med schools require upper div bio as a pre-req. Physio and microbio are considered upper div bio courses at my 4 year. But what if I took those courses at the CC - would they still be considered upper div?

I'll email the UC med schools and report back, in case anyone else needs to know. Just thought I'd ask you all first, though.

Members don't see this ad.

They grades do not have to transfer to be accepted as pre-reqs. However, some schools discriminate against community college courses.

My guess is that you took Anatomy and Physiology at the community college which is not likely to be considered an upper division biology course at a 4-year university. Your microbiology course is likely to be a pre-health science course at the community college and likely not to be considered an upper division course.

While many medical schools do not have problems with community college coursework, most community coursework is likely not going to substitute for upper division classwork as by definition, community/junior colleges are at the sophomore level at their highest level.