This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

What would be the best plan?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

dmleutz97

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, so I'm a rising Junior pre-med/Chemistry student at a small liberal arts school in Georgia, and I currently have a 3.25 GPA. I have that because I had over-involved myself with extracurricular activities; therefore, I dropped some of my extracurriculars to get more serious about my schoolwork. If I make all A's the rest of my undergraduate career, I will finish with something around a 3.6. This coming year I will be volunteering at a major hospital in Georgia, president of the American Chemical Society, a RA, and a student ambassador for my school. So, now that you know my background in regard to my extracurriculars & GPA, I have a question.

Say I don't make all A's and finish with a 3.4. After I complete my undergraduate degree, should I get a master's degree, if so in what?

Also, should I apply to some medical schools my senior year? And if I don't get in, should I scribe at a hospital?

Should I take 2 years between undergrad and med school in order to gain a lot more clinical experience and obtain a master's degree? (Sort of a hybrid of the above questions)

You're insight will be much appreciated :)

p.s. I don't mind getting into a DO or MD school!

Members don't see this ad.