Question on Non-Traditional Application dream as a soon to be Software Engineer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monsterbasher

Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm a current Comp sci major in college who is going to graduate with a job in NYC. Ever since I was a senior in HS I have always thought about medical school and recently realized (especially with the coronavirus) that this is something I really want to do. I've thought about the pros and cons, but the work on campus and the work I am going to do after graduation all align with my ideal of helping people. I want to take this further and really do something that directly impacts people and be an expert on the human body.

My plan is to work a couple of years and then do a formal post-bacc program, since I have never taken any science classes, somewhere in NYC. As a software engineer, I am afforded the opportunity to afford this both in money and time, but I realize this will be extremely challenging to balance with a full-time position.

My question is, say I get close to all As on my all post-bacc classes, what should my action plan be to get into a Allelopathic medical school and if its still a possibility with my undergrad GPA?

School: very reputable public undergraduate

GPA: 3.58 (first two 1/2 years did not know how to study but managed to ace my classes in the latter half) I received an A in Calculus 3 and A- in Statistics

Research: Honors thesis in Comp Sci and several independent research projects with grants funded by the school.

Shadowing: A little shadowing from high school (about 20 hours?)

No clinical volunteering but plan to take an EMT class

No MCAT

ORM

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: