[Question]: Getting a Dog in EM Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CardiacLion

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

Looking for some sage advice regarding the possibility of adopting an adult dog this year. I'm a rising intern, hopefully soon to be matched into an EM residency.

Wondering how many of you would say this is something that is possible to do.

Background: my family owned a dog when we were younger, I have worked with multiple fosters/rescues to foster dogs this year. And I work closely with a dog behavioralist now to learn basic walking skills, obedience training, etc.

Obviously I'll have a better idea of my schedule once/if I match into a specific program, but at best it will be 9 hour shifts and at worst 12 hour shifts during ED months.

My SO and I live together currently, and is willing to help with the dog, but on more of "need to/cover you" level. SO is a PA who works 9-5 shifts, with 12 hr shifts mixed in 1-2/week. She likes dogs, and is happy with our foster pup now - and is agreeable to a dog with his personality (is very mellow, well trained, and basically sleeps all day lol).

Planning on rescuing an adult dog (who we will have fostered first, to see if it's an appropriate fit for our lifestyle) at the tail end of fourth year (in May/June) so I will have a few weeks for it to decompress and get used to a routine.

How many of you had dogs during residency, and if so, was it worth it?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If your SO doesn't have 100% buy-in to be a co-owner of the dog do not do it. There are going to be so many pulls on your time-particularly if you do 12's-that it will become a yoke rather than a labor of love.

Hi Folks,

Looking for some sage advice regarding the possibility of adopting an adult dog this year. I'm a rising intern, hopefully soon to be matched into an EM residency.