Question about 3 year HPSP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

onelove4uk

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello I am a first year dental student and am considering the 3 year HPSP for Air Force. I'm not sure how deadlines work, am I already considered late...will I be competing directly with next year's first year dental students?

Also, I have been looking at many of these threads on military satisfaction/dissatisfaction. I definitely know of all the benefits, but it seems there is a drawback for each...I just don't know what they are though. Sure I won't have to deal with mal-insurance, and patients not being able to pay, but there are probably other hassles I'll have to deal with instead. Also many people have mentioned how much they loved their experience despite disliking many things. I was wondering if people would post specific things about what they did not like. I just want to know what I'm getting into...with no surprises.

Finally, this may seem dumb, but is there a difference between being deployed and being stationed overseas? I heard someone say in AF, deployment is only 6 months but someone else said you could be overseas for 1-2 years! Thanks a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

The only way to know for sure if you are late, is to contact your recruiter. They should be able to tell you what the deadlines are.

The way I look at it, is that military service isn't for everyone. I was prior enlisted and I really enjoy my practice and I enjoy some of the non-dental things I do. I get a little fed up with some of the online training I have to do each year. I don't like some of the lack on control I have when it comes to my assistant. However, those are small issues to me. Others will see them as non-starters or the proverbial final straw.