Putting the Myths of EM Docs to Rest!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EMCrazy

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok,
I want to start out by saying that I am a 4th year med student and even though I plan on going into EM Im not biased toward it, I just want to speak of how I feel and what I believe.
First off, Im Da%n tired of people calling EM docs not real doctors. They went to med school, graduated, got licensed, and practice medicine the hardcore way. They're like the marines. The first in to see the patient and the last to make any real difference. Ive heard of some radiologists reading films from their houses. WTF is that?
Second of all I think that EM is one of the few fields other than IM and FP and Surgery(General and only General) where one isn't a sell out by going into them. I mean this is real medicine. I can assure that not one of you went to med school to deal with the eye or look at a transparent film. No, you all went because you all had that cool idea in your head from when you were a kid looking at the nice man or woman in the white coat who made you feel all better, not a derrmatologist or an opthamologist giving you a lolly pop.
Most people I know want a great lifestyle, a greedy paycheck, and less work, and less patient contact. In a nutshell basically a job where you can be far away from medicine as possible. Very strange.