Puppy questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

navysurgeon

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a plastic surgery resident, and frequent the GS and plastics board on SDN.

I own a one year old male Vizsla. He is wonderful.

I'm debating neutering him. I like his temperment (he is very sweet), and is becoming very muscular and strong. I hunt upland game with him, and go backcountry skiing and running with him. I've heard mixed advice about the affects of neutering a dog like mine. I don't plan to breed him. We are rarely around female dogs, if ever. Should I cut him?

Second question: what the real, rational advice on running a one year old mid-sized puppy on hard surfaces, such as asphalt. We typically run on trails, or in the forest, but do run on the pavement from time to time. Genitically, he has no hip dysplasia, xrays from his parents are excellent.

Any advise on these two topics would be appreciated.

xTNS

Members don't see this ad.

to clarify, I am NOT planning to neuter my dog myself.

i just want to know the pros/cons of neutering my dog.

navysurgeon said:
to clarify, I am NOT planning to neuter my dog myself.

i just want to know the pros/cons of neutering my dog.

LOL....I love that clarification

As a plastic surgeon, you probably could fit him with some of those ping-pong balls, I mean, prosthetics that would make him look like he still had his manhood.

Members don't see this ad :)
There area many benefits to neutering dogs. A neutered male has no prostate problems when he gets older since the prostate shrinks into non-existance when the dog is neutered. It helps prevent testicular and prostate cancers. And to clarify the myth that dogs get fat when they are neutered, that is very untrue. As long as you have him on a proper diet and exercise program, he won't gain weight. Hope this helps.

mammalmama said: