Pulm/CC Fellowship much LESS competitive than IM residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SS Normandy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm a USMD graduate PGY-1 at a mid-tier NYC IM program, and am interested in pulm/cc. I was looking on FREIDA recently and realized the composition of some big name programs have significant IMG graduates. I'm new to the fellowship arena but I remember as a general rule during residency applications, the higher the USMD%, the most competitive the program.

Looking at some NY programs, for Pulm/CC (according to FREIDA):
-NYU 65%US, 33% IMG
-Cornell 55%US, 45%IMG
-NSLIJ 14%US, 66%IMG
-no data on Columbia/Montefiore
(Exception seems to be Mt. Sinai with 100% USMD)

Does this mean by the time we apply for fellowship, US vs. IMG MD simply don't matter that much? And LORs and Research mean a lot more? Or is fellowship in general less competitive to get into than the respected IM residencies for those programs? I didn't do any research during medical school, but would love to train at a large academic fellowship, and trying to gauge the competitiveness of pulm/cc in today's cycles. Thanks for any insight!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
i noticed the same thing, OP. honestly, some of the programs with the highest % of USMDs seemed to have mostly in-house (read: from that med school or IM program) fellows.

Members don't see this ad :)
By the time you apply for fellowship, med school is a long way back at the end of your CV. I would say it is equally competitive, but you face a larger pool of "real" competitors. On second thought it may even a little more competitive if you don't develop in your career as much as your peers. Where you went to school might matter, a little or maybe more some in some places. In most places, neither where you went to school, or your USMLE scores will make much of a case for you.