PTCAS GPA's

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sooners12

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to the PTCAS system and I'm confused about how the GPA's are reported. Since different programs have different pre-reqs does PTCAS calculate multiple GPA's depending on the program you are applying to?

One of the schools I'm applying to is UT Southwestern Medical Center (Dallas). For the pre-req GPA they take the highest grade of a repeated class which would increase my self-calculated pre-req GPA significantly since I've retaken two classes. Of course many other schools don't do that. Does anyone know how different the PTCAS GPA will be or does PTCAS just hand out one GPA regardless of the program?

I'm sending in all my transcripts this week but I'm antsy and want to have an idea of what to expect before hand.

Members don't see this ad.

Since it is PTCAS. It will send the PTCAS grades. But if schools take the highest grade, they will recalculate it themselves.

PTCAS sends the schools all of your class and grade info, so the individual programs can calculate your GPAs any way that they want to. Some programs use the PTCAS calculated GPAs, and some don't. If UTSW takes the highest grades for repeated courses, then I'm sure they will do their own GPA calculation. Just make sure to mark the courses as repeated when you input it into PTCAS.

You can always call UTSW just to confirm how they will calculate your GPA from the info they receive from PTCAS. I believe this is their first year using PTCAS, so they might just be figuring all this out themselves.

Members don't see this ad :)
Which course gets the repeated mark? The original course or the newest one?

Okay thanks! I think I entered everything correctly....I'll double/triple check before submitting. I definitely don't want any delays because of a mistake I made.