Psych vs Radiology vs Pathology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

initialize

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Wasn’t sure where to post this — I’m still a med student but figured the people in this subsection would have better knowledge about this question:

Which of the aforementioned specialties has the best lifestyle when it comes to hours, stress levels, ease-of-learning during residency, etc?

I’m a non-trad student and older than most other students and have worked my fair share of stressful jobs before med school… I’m honestly at the point of my life where lifestyle is pretty much the only thing that matters to me lol.

Members don't see this ad.

Psychiatry.

You need to study a lot in a radiology and pathology residencies.

Reactions: 1 user
Psychiatry.

You need to study a lot in a radiology and pathology residencies.
But you have to talk...a lot...in psych.

Not arguing one vs the others (because they all sound like hell to me despite my own practice involving aspects of all 3 on a daily basis), but it's a good way to break down ones own preferences.

Reactions: 2 users
Radiology is a lot of studying during residency and the learning curve at the beginning is pretty steep. Call in residency usually sucks. You can find more lifestyle driven residencies. Most residencies that are fellow-heavy aren't too bad lifestyle wise.

Radiology has a wide-spectrum of lifestyles as an attending. There's plenty of M-F, 8-5pm mammo only gigs out there. Day-time telerad and eat-what-you-kill models are becoming more prevalent. The VA radiology gigs are pretty cush when considering production:time. The flip side is the partnership PP model where you take 10-16 weekends of call a year.

Anything radiology job with call is gonna be stressful to some degree. Radiology call varies from bad to awful in most jobs now.