Propofol for procedural sedation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pinipig523

I like my job!
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have some experience with proposal but I wanted to get a sense of what the other guys here use.

I usually just do slightly less than 1mg/kg initial bolus and then re-bolus as needed at a little less than 0.5mg/kg. So in an 80kg pt, I usually just do 60 + 30 + 30 as needed. I've only done this twice.

What about you guys?

I've heard that some just do like 40 + 20 + 20 + 20 until adequately sedated on a 80kg patient. While others just give a slug of 80 then re-bolus at 40 at a time on an 80kg patient.

How quickly do you guys redose? And how quickly do you guys wait for sedation to kick in?

Members don't see this ad.

unless very old or young i give them a 1 mg/kg slug, then 'feather' light touches during the procedure.

Members don't see this ad :)
40 or 50 bolus + 20, 20, 20, etc. I have had a few apneic patients with propofol recently, all of which responded with chin lift and stimulation. Always have your back-ups equipment ready and I feel nasal ETCO2 is a valuable addition.

Reactions: 1 user
I just keep pushing (at a fairly fast rate) until they're sedated. I don't calculate dosages as I've found that it causes a variable response.

So how quickly do you push boluses and how long do you wait in between?

Weird case.. I was doing a procedure and a partner was sedating a pretty healthy 60 yr old. Long story short the guy becomes apneic but then we bag him and he just desats. Interestingly he wasnt fat etc. Nothing to make you think it would have been hard to bag. We were bagging wihtout much resistance but the guys sats dropped way down, then popped up to a still low number until he got tubed. I was wondering if the guy bronchospasmed or what. No ketamine.. just a straight propofol sedation. Wondering on thoughts from the others on here.