princeton review teaching

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tennis23

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm auditioning to teach Princeton Review tomorrow and need to think of a nonacademic subject to teach for 5-10 minutes. Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks very much - I appreciate the help!:p

Members don't see this ad.

Based on your username, I assume you either play or have an affinity for tennis. Why don't you teach the rules of tennis, or teach the fundamentals of the forehand, backhand, or serving?

I'm a TPR teacher and trainer and I taught how to get out of a crappy date. It doesn't matter what you teach, really, just be relaxed and involve the audience. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks so much - both of you. Holly, how big is the audience I'm auditioning in front of? thanks!

It depends. If you're auditioning at a pre-set time, your audience will be the other people who are auditioning at the same time plus a couple of office people -- probably the course director, the trainer, and some miscellaneous people. This was how my audition was, and there were about 20 people. I've run auditions, though, with a lot fewer -- like 5-10.

If you set up your own audition time, you'll probably just audition in front of a couple of office people.

Oh, don't wear a suit and tie or anything like that. Look, you know, groomed and stuff, but you don't need to really dress up. Have a good time, and you'll do great. Everyone I've ever met at TPR offices is really cool and casual, and I've been working there forever. There's really nothing to worry about.

Hey - thanks again. Does it need to be a how-to teaching? I was thinking of teaching "how the cubs managed to lose the series" (if they do). would that work? by the way, i love your quote.